Refresh Your Research

Standard

Sometimes we need to refresh our research.  Meaning we need to look at it with fresh eyes.  I’ve noticed that when I am working hard trying find an elusive ancestor, I need to take a break.  I put it away for a while and work on another person or another line.  When I go back to the previous line that was giving me so much trouble, I look at with fresh eyes and sometimes (not all the time), I will notice something that I haven’t seen before or a new idea on where to search will come to me.  Also, I will go back to Ancestry or Familysearch because maybe by that time they have added some records that will help me.  Sometimes, if I have not already done it, I will write a short biography of the ancestor and putting it in story form helps me to see the gaps in my research.  So I am seeing with a fresh perspective.  If my family will tolerate me talking about my research, a new idea will pop into my head while talking about my research.  Most of the time though I try not to talk about it because I find people not interested in genealogy, get bored with it quickly.  I see their eyes wondering looking away at other things all the while they are saying ah ha, ah ha, ah ha.  Well, I didn’t mean to get off on that topic.  That’s for another post some other time.   I’m going to take my own advice and put aside a brick wall I’ve been trying to bust down for sometime now and move on to another brick wall.  Oh, I’ve got many!  So refresh it is!

Daily Prompt: Refresh

 

About Gail Grunst Genealogy

Gail has been researching her own family since 1979. Her research has taken her back to 1800 Belgium and 1800 England. Gail has worked in a library for the last 20 years and has answered genealogy questions for patrons and helped patrons with their research. In addition to her degree in Library Media Technology, Gail has a two degree in Basic American Genealogy Research from the National Genealogy Society. She has done volunteer work for various Genealogy Societies. Gail teaches several Classes in Genealogy for the Round Lake Area Library, and would be happy to conduct a class for your organization. If interested in a class or if you would like a one-on-one consultation, please contact Gail. Please enjoy Gail's family History Blog

3 responses »

  1. I want to do some ancestry research once life is a little more free. It sounds fascinating! Now, I just have too many other things to juggle. Good luck with your fresh perspective!

      • I have sooo many hobbies that fit that qualification! But I am looking forward to this one! I have had a family member research the family history on both of my parents– so I suspect I will have a bit of a head start?

Leave a Reply

