Who am I and what am I doing here?

Standard

Genealogy is my passion!  I’ve been doing it since 1979, and I am still working on it as it is a never ending project.  You find an answer and then you have 20 more questions.  I have traced a couple of my lines back to the 1750’s.  One line in England and the other in Germany.  I recently had my DNA done by Ancestry.com in hopes of finding distant cousins that were working on the same lines.  But I have to admit it was somewhat disappointing in that area.  I have many, many, distant cousins. Some of them do not share their family tree, and of the ones that do share, I can’t find the common ancestor.  There were no surprises as to what part of the world my ancestors came from, as it was the same as where my research has taken me.

Sometimes, I wonder what is the point in spending hours, days, months, and years researching dead people.  In my family, I seem to be the only one who cares.  They put up with me, and my stories of my latest find.  As I get older, I wonder what is going to happen to my research.  Will my kids just throw it out?  Will my children or my grandchildren care about it someday?   I hope that by having this blog it will help preserve some of it.  I won’t give up, I can’t, it’s in my DNA.  So that’s who I am and that’s what I am doing here.

About Gail Grunst Genealogy

Gail has been researching her own family since 1979. Her research has taken her back to 1800 Belgium and 1800 England. Gail has worked in a library for the last 20 years and has answered genealogy questions for patrons and helped patrons with their research. In addition to her degree in Library Media Technology, Gail has a two degree in Basic American Genealogy Research from the National Genealogy Society. She has done volunteer work for various Genealogy Societies. Gail teaches several Classes in Genealogy for the Round Lake Area Library, and would be happy to conduct a class for your organization. If interested in a class or if you would like a one-on-one consultation, please contact Gail. Please enjoy Gail's family History Blog

6 responses »

  1. Wow. I really like the idea behind your blog. I’d like to do something similar, though I don’t think I will be able to trace my family history back a couple hundred years. I’m mainly looking to ask my parents and grandparents about their lives in Nigeria and America and preserve their stories somewhere. I’m also looking to preserve things from my past when my sisters and I were really young. Sometimes it seems like I’m the only one who cares, too, but your blog will definitely give me the encouragement and motivation to carry it out. 🙂

  2. Gail I also blog family history – it grew into an online archive with in a very short time – so I wish you good luck with your enterprise. We need you. Please know you are making a difference every time you put something out for others to share and enjoy. Thank you

  3. Don’t forget that one of the key benefits to the DNA test is that you’ll get to compare data with researchers in the future, too. More and more folks testing all the time means you will eventually get good matches, even if you didn’t do any more than check back now and then.

    Keep the faith. You know how it is. Just keep working it, and eventually your ancestors will tire of hiding. 🙂

  4. I’m right there with you. I’ve been researching my family history since the 8th grade. I have most of my family tree on Tribal Pages and Ancestry, but can’t afford Ancestry on a daily basis. I recently sent in my DNA sample and I’m waiting on the results. Most of my trees I’ve traced back to Europe but I have some that stop with no leads to go further. I’m looking for the true story of my family history. Things that I’ve been told since a young child, I’ve discovered aren’t the truth. Good luck in your quest. Maybe we can give each other some helpful tips.

    • Family stories are often not true. People tend to exaggerate, a private becomes a general and so on. Also it’s like the telephone game and things get changed with each telling. I hope your able to write the true stories. Please feel free to share your ideas, genealogy problems, and brick walls with me.

Leave a Reply

